March 16, 2016

Onward to November!

The primaries are now over and we know who will be leading our statewide ticket! We will be working very hard to elect Roy Cooper as our next governor, electing a Democratic Council of State and U.S. Senator, and keeping Democrats in the White House. Congratulations to our statewide winners, as well as Mark Marcoplos, Penny Rich, Mark Dorosin, and Renee Price on their elections as county commissioners for the next four years. We also want to congratulate Stephen Halkiotis, Tony McKnight, Matthew Roberts, and Michael Hood on their election to the Orange County Board of Education. Thank you to all candidates who stepped up to run for local office and we hope you’ll stay involved in our community.

Over the next few weeks, we will be working on solidifying out GOTV plans for the fall campaign. We will be in touch with campaigns, including those for Roy Cooper, Deborah Ross, and Josh Stein, on how we can coordinate our efforts here in Orange County. Most importantly beyond Orange County, we will also strategize with our legislative delegation on how best to organize counties with safe seats to help with swing districts so that we may make gains in the legislature to sustain Roy Cooper’s vetoes.

We cannot do this without you. Please consider making a contribution to the OCDP for our efforts this year in the amount of $25, 50, 100, or 250. We had a lot of success in 2014 and aim to have a repeat effort.

Up next will be the county convention. It will be held on April 16th at the Whitted Building (300 West Tryon Street, Hillsborough). Lunch will begin at 11am and convention business will begin at 12pm. Our keynote speakers are Congressman David Price and Gene Nichol. A detailed convention agenda is forthcoming. A resolutions committee will be appointed for the convention. If you’re interested in this, please let me know and I will appoint you to the committee.

I want to give a shout out to Susan Romaine. She did a fabulous job as our acting chair, along with our entire executive leadership team, over the last few months. Her abilities and work ethic made it an easier choice for me to take a leave of absence knowing that the party would be in very capable hands.

Thank you for your support of the OCDP and onward to November!

Read More

March 2, 2016

Early Voting Starts Thursday, March 3

Early voting begins around Orange County on March 3rd. For more information, please visit: 

Read More

January 19, 2016

County Commissioner Forums

The Chapel Hill-Carrboro Branch of the NAACP will be holding a county commissioners candidate forum.

Wednesday, February 10 from 7 – 9 PM
OWASA Community Room, 
400 Jones Ferry Road
Carrboro, N.C.

Moderator: Diane Robertson


The Orange County Democratic Party and Orange County Democratic Women are thrilled to jointly host candidate forums for County Commissioner.  Here are the dates, times, and locations for the two candidate forums:

Candidate Forum for District One and At Large Seat

Sunday, February 28th from 4 – 6 PM

Lake Hogan Farms Club House

101 Commons Way, Chapel Hill


            District One Candidates:  Mark Dorosin, Penny Rich, Gary Kahn, Jamezetta Bedford

            At Large Candidates:  Andy Cagle, Matt Hughes, Mark Marcoplos

            Moderator: Mary Bushnell


Candidate Forum for District Two and At Large Seat

Wednesday, March 2nd from 7 – 9 PM

Orange County Public Library

137 West Margaret Lane, Hillsborough


            District Two Candidates:  Renee Price, Bonnie Hauser

            At Large Candidates: Andy Cagle, Matt Hughes, Mark Marcoplos

            Moderator: Vicki Boyer


The format for both forums will be as follows:  one-minute introductory statements by the candidates, two rounds of the same question for each of the candidates, one round of candidate-specific questions, questions from the audience, and one-minute closing statements.  More details to follow as we get closer to the candidate forums.

Read More

January 8, 2016

2016 Candidate Filings

Election filing for the 2016 primaries are complete and we now know who the candidates are!

Our legislators, Senator Valerie Foushee and Representatives Verla Insko and Graig Meyer, are running for another two year term. They are not opposed in the primary, but Senator Foushee and Representative Meyer are opposed in the General Election.

We have contested races for Orange County Commissioner. For the at-large seat Andy Cagle, Matt Hughes, and Mark Marcoplos are vying for an open-seat on the Board of County Commissioners. The winner will not face a Republican opponent in the General Election. For two district one seats up this year incumbents Mark Dorosin and Penny Rich are running for re-election, with former city school board chair Jamezetta Bedford and Gary Kahn running as well. The top two voter getters will receive the Democratic nomination and will not face a Republican opponent in the General Election. For district two incumbent Renee Price has filed for re-election and will be joined by Bonnie Hauser in the primary. The winner will not face a Republican opponent in the General Election.

The County Board of Education will also have their elections. There are three seats open for a full four year term. Incumbents Steve Halkiotis and Tony McKnight are running for another term, with Matthew Roberts running for the third seat. There are no other candidates for this race. There is a fourth seat up for election to complete the term of a former board member and there are two candidates: John Hamilton and Michael Hood. 

Read More

November 3, 2015

Election Day: Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Poll Information

Polls will open on Tuesday, November 3, 2015 and remain open from 6:30am until 7:30pm. 

You may use this link to determine your election day polling place according to your residential address. 


Voter ID is not required to vote in this year's elections.


Please note that there is no same-day registration on election day.   Click here to check your voter registration status.


Voters who appear on Election Day in the correct county but in the improper precinct may cast a provisional ballot, which will be counted for all contests in which the voter was eligible to participate.  This “out-of-precinct voting” is currently permitted due to a preliminary injunction granted under a decision by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, but this option remains the subject of ongoing litigation in federal court. Please check back at this website for updates.  Click here to locate your assigned precinct polling location.

2015 Candidate Information
Voter Guide Hillsborough 2015, including for endorsed candidates Evelyn Lloyd, Brian Lowen, and Mark Bell for Town Board
Voter Guide Carrboro-Chapel Hill 2015

Chapel Hill Bond Referenda Information (External Link)

2015 Sample Ballots
School Board ONLY (parts of Cedar Falls, Colonial Heights, Dogwood Acres, Hogan Farms, Kings Mill, North Carrboro, Patterson, St. John)
Mebane Ballot (parts of Cheeks)
Carrboro Ballot (Carrboro, Lions Club, OWASA, Town Hall and parts of Damascus, Hogan Farms, Lions Club, North Carrboro, St. John)
Hillsborough Ballot (Hillsborough and parts of Cameron Park, Grady Brown, West Hillsborough)
Chapel Hill Ballot (Battle Park, Booker Creek, Coker Hills, Country Club, East Franklin, Eastside, Estes Hills, Glenwood, Greenwood, Lincoln, Mason Farm, Northside, Ridgefield, Weaver Dairy, Weaver Dairy Satellite, Westwood and parts of Cedar Falls, Colonial Heights, Dogwood Acres, Kings Mill, Patterson)

Not voting this fall: Caldwell, Carr, Cedar Grove, Coles Store, Efland, Eno, Orange Grove, St Marys, Tolars, White Cross.

Read More